Like many of Bermuda’s Anglican Churches, Christ Church Devonshire has a history dating back to the arrival of the island’s first settlers. Though the exact date of the original building’s construction is unknown, the first official acknowledgement of its existence was recorded in 1654 by the Will of Captain Roger Wood, who bequethed to the church a silver beaker in recognition of its groundbreaking.

On October 28th, 1846, the cornerstone for what was known as the “New Church” was laid, a rebuild necessitated by Devonshire’s growing population at the time. This new structure was consecrated on March 25th, 1851 by Rt. Rev. Edward Field, where it stood until 1970.

Only two years after being honoured by then Archbishop Of Canterbury,
Dr. Michael Ramsay, March 29th, 1970 (Easter Sunday) saw the Church
virtually demolished by an explosion and subsequent fire. The resulting
damage required yet another rebuild, resulting in the current structure
that stands to this day.

The Little Church With A Big Heart

Affectionately known as “the little church with a big heart”, Christ Anglican Church in Devonshire, Bermuda is a humble House of God with a rich history and a following of loyal worshippers committed to spreading
His word in a fun, open atmosphere! We believe in spreading God’s love
throughout our Congregation, the local community and by extension, the
World. We encourage all those in attendance, regulars and guests alike,
to sing the hymns joyfully while offering prayers for the Church and
God’s people, here and everywhere. Services are led by Canon James W.
Francis,OBE,JP, Rector. Our Church is part of the Diocese of Cantebury
falling under the Jurisdiction of Bishop of Bermuda.


Service Times

Sunday Service:
8am -and 11am


Faith - belief in God or in the doctrines or teachings of religion: the firm faith of the Pilgrims.


2016-2017 Vestry Members

Chairman – Canon James W. Francis O.B.E, JP  Wardens – Janice W. Swan, Alan E. Lugo, JP Clerk – Joan Joslyn Treasurer – Marie Franklin, JP  Members – Lawrence Godwin, Helena Rawlins, Sharon L. Johnson, Llewellyn Trott, Anthony Hunter Sr, Neil Anglin, Aisha Jones, Stanley Douglas Vestry Agents – Patrice Smith, Stephen Emery, Rosemary Matthews, Maxine Burns, Maxine Burch